International Student Scholarships - Office of Admission

International Student Scholarships

All international undergraduate applicants are eligible for the merit-based, International Leadership Scholarship.  Academic performance, extracurricular activities, and leadership experience are all considered when awarding this scholarship. It is renewable for up to four years. Recipients must maintain full-time enrollment and a minimum 2.0 cumulative GPA at The University of Tulsa.

2022-23 Academic Scholarships

Monetary value listed is per year and are average amounts . Meeting the standards listed on this scholarship table does not guarantee any level of scholarship.

GPA to be consideredAmount
International students can participate in many of TU’s Special Programs and may also be eligible for these other scholarship opportunities.


  • Richard Hojel Scholarship

    The Richard C. Hojel scholarship is a full tuition scholarship to study petroleum, mechanical, or electrical engineering, as well as students pursuing degrees in business. It is awarded once every four years to a student of Mexican citizenship, with priority given to applicants residing in Mexico. All qualified applicants will be considered; there is no additional application form.

    The Hojel Award is a gift to the University of Tulsa by the Hojel and Meinig families in memory of Richard C. Hojel, a distinguished alumnus and generous friend of the university.

  • Esphahanian Scholarship

    The Nasser Esphahanian Memorial Scholarship is an endowment scholarship awarded once every four years to a student of Iranian citizenship that attended the majority of their high school (or equivalent) in Iranian Schools. This is a need based scholarship based on full-time enrollment. The scholarship was established by the Esphahanian family to advance crosscultural understanding between the people of the United States and the people of Iran.

    All Iranian undergraduate applicants are eligible for consideration, and there is no separate application process.

  • Transfer Honors Scholarship

    New transfer applicants who were members of Phi Theta Kappa at a two-year college will be considered for this scholarship award. Eligibility is based upon a cumulative 3.5 GPA and at least 48 hours of transferable credit. This scholarship is valued at $22,000 per year and is renewable with maintenance of a minimum 2.0 cumulative GPA.

  • Presidential Scholarship

    The TU Presidential Scholarship is the most prestigious academic merit award given by the university. The award is based on a number of factors, including exceptional performance in a rigorous college preparatory curriculum, ACT/SAT scores, demonstrated leadership and/or service. The Presidential Scholarship covers full tuition for four years (8 consecutive undergraduate semesters total, excluding summers). Consideration for the Presidential Scholarship also requires submission of a separate Special Programs Application, which must be received no later than January 15. Details on the scholarship and how to apply can be found here.